Analog Bit Crusher

Started by ExpAnonColin, August 28, 2006, 10:13:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ExpAnonColin

Hello fellow DIYers.

A little while back someone asked me to make them a sample rate reducer.  A little while after, someone posted on my message board about Eb9+7's nyquist aliaser.  The Nyquist Aliaser is brilliant but I have very little knowledge of transistors (my teacher last semester said "We're going to treat transistors as switches, if you're interested in other uses, please feel free to learn more outside of class).  I don't like to build things I don't understand, so I designed my own sample rate reducer using op amps.  It uses 4 op amps in total, or two duals or a quad.  There are two noninverting buffers, the standard JFET sample/hold with a cap, and a schmitt trigger/integrator oscillator being turned into a pulse generator via two diodes.  It works and sounds great, though there is some amount of bleedtrhough, which at this point I'm fairly sure is due to noise in the signal being sampled and held combined with the regular bleeding you'd expect... what was interesting was that using a quad vs using two duals did not yield much difference in bleedthrough.  The only method I have found to work at all for nulling the clock is to wire a 470k-1M resistor to the gate, to the center lugs of a 500k-1M trim whose side lugs are ground and 9v.  The problem is, this creates misbiasing either at all frequencies of clock or at some rather than others.  You might be able to reduce the noise somewhat by isolating one dual's supply voltage from the other, via 100ohm resistors or so and perhaps a filtering cap.  If I am ever to sell this commercially, I would probably make the input buffer a noninverting amplifier with a gain of maybe 4 or so, and make the output amplifier have a gain of maybe 1/4 or so, so that any clock noise introduced by the JFET switching would be removed, and any input signal noise would remaing the same.