Tonepad Tubescreamer Resistor Switching Mods?

Started by boogietube, September 06, 2006, 08:46:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

boogietube

I want to build the Tubescreamer posted at Tonepad, but I'd like to wire up a switch to switch between the two 808 resistors and the two ts9 resistors. How would I do this and what kind of switch do I need? Diagrams are appreciated as I am a relative noob.
Thanks
Sean
Pedals Built- Morley ABC Box, Fultone A/B Box, DIY Stompboxes True Bypass box, GGG Drop in Wah, AMZ Mosfet Boost, ROG Flipster, ROG Tonemender, Tonepad Big Muff Pi.
On the bench:  Rebote 2.5,  Dr Boogie, TS808

bancika

you need DPTD switch (ON/ON). Each pole (with three lugs) will switch one resistor. For each pole one lead goes from first hole on board to center lug on switch. Two resistors are mounted on lugs 1 and 3 and both of the are connected to second hole on board. Do the same for other pole and you're set.
The new version of DIY Layout Creator is out, check it out here

darron

drew this up quickly. can people think of a better way?

cut back one end of the resistors so that it's pretty short, about 1cm (1/3") or so, and solder them directly to the switch. on the other side trim it down a bit and connect it to some wire that's the right length to go the the board, and melt some shrink wrap over the connection so that it doesn't short out in the future.

my tubescreamer has 3 external switches sticking out of it hehe.
Blood, Sweat & Flux. Pedals made with lasers and real wires!

smank

My default is the 808 resistors.
What difference can you hear switching between TS9 and TS808 positions?

bancika