Wah wah sound problem

Started by Fuzzy-Train, September 10, 2006, 12:24:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fuzzy-Train

First I'd like to say hi to everybody. I'm new and this is my first post. I have little experience with pedal building and modding but I'm having soo much fun learning.

I moded my dunlop hendrix wah and I'm getting some weird sound problems. For some reason when the wah is in the heel position some notes have a great gain/feedback sound but others don't. Especially around the 12th and 15th fret on the G, B, and high e string. The sound drops and it sounds almost muted, BUT if I move my foot just a teeny tiny bit forward (toe) the notes have that nice gain/feedback sound that the others have when heeled out.

I basically did these mods http://img105.imageshack.us/my.php?image=articlewahmods7zvbj9.jpg / http://www.stinkfoot.se/andreas/diy/mods/dunlop.htm

Except I didn't change the transistors, or use the 100k pot. I just switched to a 56k resistor for the vocal mod. I put in the 330 ohm resistor in place of the 470 ohm, but I switched back to the 470 ohm thinking it might help but it pretty much stayed the same. I replaced the 68k resistor with a 39k resistor, and my wah came stock with the .022uf cap so that has stayed the same.

I have very little experience with this kind of stuff, but here's what I think may be the problem. I think I might need to switch to a 270 ohm resistor since those are supposed to add more gain But, I'm worried that might make it worse, and I don't have a 270 ohm to test it with.

My other idea is that the pot might be shot because I got it from a friend who is very rough with his gear, so it might be dying out. I tried adjusting the pot to see if that might work but no luck. Unless the pot is set so I get the maximum allowed treble, or toe, it just doesn't sound right... it's way to bassy and muted.