total newbie power supply question and intro...

Started by mhein68, October 02, 2006, 10:23:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mhein68

Hey all,
   I am totally new to all this. I am 38 and been a drummer on and off since '87 and recently got a guitar cheap (really cheap  :icon_rolleyes:) and and thought about effect pedals and a web search brought me here and other sites.... My first project is going to be a passive a/b switcher like at http://www.fulltone.com/PDfFiles/AB_switcher.pdf. My first ( I'm sure of many) question is.... it states to use a "2.1mm dc jack". Is this for just a Boss/Roland type wall wart or any ol' 9v plug with the right size pole? Is there a cheap source for plugs (yard sale items? I am a yard sale junkie!! ) or just stock up on Boss plugs on Ebay? I have learned alot from searching the post and hope to learn alot int he future!! Any help on this would be great! Thanks!  8) Mike
Mike H.
mhein68@live.com

brett

Hi
You can get 9v *regulated* wall-warts at a variety of electronics shops.
OR, you could get a cheap 12 to 18V unregulated wall-wart and build a power supply.

Charity shops are a cheap source of second-hand wall-warts.  My local shop sells them for $1.
cheers
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

mhein68

I guess I am a real newbie... What does "regulated" mean? Examples to look for at junk shops/charity shop or yard sales, flea markets?

Quote from: brett on October 02, 2006, 10:49:19 PM
Hi
You can get 9v *regulated* wall-warts at a variety of electronics shops.
OR, you could get a cheap 12 to 18V unregulated wall-wart and build a power supply.

Charity shops are a cheap source of second-hand wall-warts.  My local shop sells them for $1.
cheers

Mike H.
mhein68@live.com

idlechatterbox

2nd the Thrift Store suggestion.