I want to build an Atari punk console

Started by theMACHINE, October 19, 2006, 10:37:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

theMACHINE

Hi!

I'm a complete beginner to all this electronic stuff, but I still want to build myself a fine little noise machine. I found this layout while browsing arond here, and it seems like a great litte project. But, since I'm a beginner with pretty much no experience, I have a few questions.

Here's the layout i found.

To me, it seems like I cold build this without the PCB, and just wire point-to-point with wires. Is this possible, or will it be really messy?
Also, I would like a On of switch with an indicator LED (and of course a resistor for the led). Could someone please tell me where, and how i should connect this?

And one more thing; How should i connect the pots?

Thanks.
-

tcobretti

You could build it point to point.  It may be messy, but if it works, that's good enough.

A-1 means the #1 lug of the pot, A-23 means the 2nd and 3rd lugs of the pot.

For the on/off/led, this circuit isn't a guitar effect, so you really don't need it; either you are using it, or you aren't.  I think if you want a switch that turns the pedal on and lights an LED, you could use a dpdt, where one side breaks the current to the circuit and the other supplies current to the LED.  If you analyze some of the schematics over at generalguitargadgets.com, I'm sure you can figure it out.

jonathan perez

$uperpuma will make the board for you, if youd like. his name is Nate and hes a fine gentleman.

hes also got this thing for hugs, so if you ever meet him (or just want to virtually), be sure to give him a big hug.
no longer the battle of midway...(i left that band)...

i hate signatures with gear lists/crap for sale....

i am a wah pervert...ask away...

Alex C

Hello, and welcome to the forum.

Quote from: theMACHINE on October 19, 2006, 10:37:12 PM