This is my first time here!!! (another Tremulus Lune thread)

Started by Indoor Fireworks, December 11, 2006, 02:18:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Indoor Fireworks

Hello everyone, I'm new here.

So I've been looking for a good tremolo pedal and I've noticed that everyone here rants and raves about the Tremulus Lune so I've decided to take on this pedal as my first project. I've got some experience with electronics, soldering, and modding pedals but I do still consider myself a "Newbie." Before I start stocking up on all the parts, I've got a few questions that hopefully you guys will be able to answer for me:

1. What taper should I use for the pots? Audio or linear?

2. I've seen a couple different layouts for this circuit board (one on www.commonsound.com and another on http://fuzzcentral.ssguitar.com/tremulus/tremuluspcb.gif and yet another on http://www.tonepad.com/project.asp?id=42). I'm leaning toward using the commonsound layout but is it ready to transfer (ie: does it need to be resized before I print it)?

3. If I add the rate doubling mod, will this give the effect of one fast tremolo and one slow tremolo being used simultaneously? If so, the commonsound page says to use a 3PDT stomp switch, but can I use a toggle switch (sorry if this is a stupid question)?

Thanks, I look forward to hearing some input from people who have already built this pedal. And also, I apologize for my poor grammar. I'm sleepy and I've been studying for finals all day :)

John Lyons

Welcome!

All of the pots are linear
I would go with the Tonepad layout as the PDF will print exactly the correct size.
You can resize all of them if you want but a PDF is more foolproof.
The rate doubling mod is switchable so you just chose a fast variable rate or the "normal" rate available, one or the other.
A toggle is fine to use.

John

Basic Audio Pedals
www.basicaudio.net/

Peter Snowberg

Welcome to the forum and best of luck with your builds!  :icon_cool:
Eschew paradigm obfuscation