Stating the obvious

Started by DryRoasted, January 15, 2007, 01:00:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DryRoasted

I've been thinking about the krank distortion pedal, and having nothing better to do I studied the picture Battleofmidway posted way back of his.  Like some one pointed out its very similar to Arons smash drive, even down to the (admittedly vey common) tone stack, by looking at the values very handily printed on the circuit board solder mask.  Now the only bit which is foreign is the 2N5088 tranny in the bottom left corner along with alsorted resistors and caps.  Being a cynic I suspect that the krank pedal is basically a simple high gain (2N5088's are high gain trannies right?) booster running into a smash drive type circuit.   Funny old world isn't it?

Sticking a tube into a tube screamer to get good sound is about like rubbing yourself all over the weight stacks at the gym to get stronger - R.G.

Doug_H

What's a Krack? Never heard of it.

DryRoasted

Lol! I Krack pedal is the Krank distortus maximus pedal after a long day at work and not looking at what I'm typing
Sticking a tube into a tube screamer to get good sound is about like rubbing yourself all over the weight stacks at the gym to get stronger - R.G.

petemoore

Looks like an engineered for MProduction board with a 386/5088 on it.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

The Tone God

Autorouted board too. Tsk tsk.

Andrew

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

Quote from: The Tone God on January 15, 2007, 03:59:39 PM
Autorouted board too. Tsk tsk. Andrew

Goes to show, the only time autorouting works, is when you don't need it!
Then again, it might have been laid out by someone on 'krack'..

DryRoasted

Quote from: petemoore on January 15, 2007, 03:16:36 PM
  Looks like an engineered for MProduction board with a 386/5088 on it.

I'm not implying anything just trying to work it out

The Tone God

Quote from: Paul Perry (Frostwave) on January 15, 2007, 06:03:50 PM