Transformer question for PSU

Started by WelshWonder, February 01, 2007, 02:13:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WelshWonder

Hi all,

I'm new to this game, so please don't flame me for posting questions that have been asked before.  :)

I'm thinking of building my first power supply (all 8 x 9Vdc) and have chosen the GGG Ultra Clean Power supply. Now, lookign at the diagram and the list of materials, the transformer required is a 120/25 volt. I am in the UK and our electric runs at 230Vac so I'm confused on choosing a suitable transformer. I'm not entirely sure what spec I should be looking at when deciding to buy. I use http://uk.farnell.com as my source. Can anyone recommend me one and fill me in on transformers specs? I have searched this site and looked up wiki for info on transformers but my knowledge is still shady.

Papa_lazerous

Can you post a link to the schematic ot GGG, most people wont bother to look without a link.  I use Farnell there online catalogue is quite daunting at first.  will have a look for you

Papa_lazerous

Just had a look there already on farnell having a look, I dont know What the current draw is on that circuit though  ???

WelshWonder

that's great thanks...

so when I choose a transformer, do I assume the primary be 230V and the secondary be in the region of what the project is for (in my case, around 9V)?

Papa_lazerous

ok I will try and explain a bit for you

230VAC at 50Hz is the UK supply not 240 like most people think!

Thats what goes in the primary.  Dont forget to put a suitable fuse in there too!!  Be safe  ;)

The secondary calls for 25VAC but 24V will be fine.

this gets Rectified the maths is 24*squareroot  2  sorry dont know how to insert symbols

But you get 33.95VDC roughly after you make it DC this gets Filtered to remove noise which lowers the Voltage and also gets put thorugh a regulator I am not going to work it all out for you but with a bit of magic it ends up a nice clean output of 9VDC