Transistors.. wich pin is wich?

Started by theMACHINE, February 27, 2007, 04:35:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

theMACHINE

Hi..

Stupid question!

I'm new to all this, and I need to know how to figure out my transistors... I just wonder how you know wich pin is wich..?
Guess they are called B, C and E? If so, how so I know which one is wich?

-

The Tone God

Without knowing which transistor you are referring to we are guessing just as much as you.

Did you check out the DIY FAQ as well ? ;)

Andrew

caress

Meanderthal

Usually you can google the part number, get the datasheet, and that'll tell ya.
I am not responsible for your imagination.

theMACHINE

-

dxm1

Mark Hammer

I could be flippant and say "Just get the damn datasheet!", but the sad and frustrating truth of the matter is that sometimes the illustrations on them are a little ambiguous, and you're no farther ahead if you end up downloading the "wrong" datasheet for that particular tranny.  Of course if the number is missing or hard to read, how do you get the datasheet in the first place?

All transistors are essentially a pair of diodes, with either the cathodes or the anodes constituting the emitter and collector pins.  While you can use your multimeter's diode test to identify which of the 3 is the base and whether it is PNP or NPN (something they outline in an old Sam's and HEP transistor cross-reference), there is still the question to resolve of which is the emitter and which the collector.