Rangemaster Help from GGG

Started by msurdin, March 04, 2007, 11:49:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

msurdin

I just build the rangemaster from GGG. I love the sound but I really want to be able to have control of the tone. I was wondering if there is any way I can put a control for tone.

Thanks alot!

SysCrusher

Quote from: msurdin on March 04, 2007, 11:49:20 AM
I just build the rangemaster from GGG. I love the sound but I really want to be able to have control of the tone. I was wondering if there is any way I can put a control for tone.

Thanks alot!

Check out JoeGagan's post.

http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=54971.msg421557#msg421557

In it you'll see a tone control that works just great. I wire mine a little different than that but his example is fool proof.

msurdin

Alright thanks. I'm still learning stuff so where on the board ( http://generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/geb_rm_lo_pp.gif ) and how do I add the control?

Thanks for your help and patience.

petemoore

Looks like it'd be placed where the .005 input cap was.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

msurdin

Can I wire a pt there so I can change the tone externally? Or just a trim pot inside would work?

If i can use a pot on the outside would I just solder it to points 1 and 3?

Ucho

You can use something similar to the tone control on Apollo and Orange Treble&Bass bossters.

(The the schematics are from Geofex)

petemoore

On the box pot, that way you can adjust the treble control...

msurdin

On the box pot?
Do you mean just a pot ontop of the enclosure?

As it was said before it would be placed where the .005 cap is.

How would I wire the pot into it?

Thanks

petemoore

Rangemaster input cap blocks DC, being a small value, it's resistance increases as frequency decreases, bass is rolled off.