Switching on re-boxed TS-5 (bargain TS-8)

Started by chris scott, April 01, 2007, 11:05:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chris scott

Hey all,

Pure desperation drives me to post this thread! I am a luthier/ player down here in Costa Rica. I re-boxed a TS-5 Tubescreamer pedal out of necessity, ( I grew weary of input jack issues, not for true-bypass) and am having a REAL hard time finding any info on switching.

I tried a regular wah-type switch, which led me to discover the whole buffered/ FET switching deal in these and other pedals. Fine and dandy. I stuck a momentary-contact switch robbed from a Rivera combo switchpad laying around my shop, thinking "oh boy-problem solved" -Nope. My guess is too much resistance inside the switch, as I have to hit the switch as many as 10-15 times before it goes on, yet only once always turns it off. When I touch the two wires to the switch in a positive (yet obviously momentary) fashion, it works fine. I really don't care HOW I effect a reliable switching method- it can be true OVERpass for all I care- I just want to be able to use the darn thing!

So here's the deal- the first (probably ONLY) person who can either show me a diagram (or direct me to a site that has one) that will solve this VERY OLD issue, enabling me to use this very essential pedal, will be elegible for a FREE surf lesson here at my place in Costa Rica.

No, I'm not gonna fly you down here, but if anyone can help me, I will be forever in your debt!

TIA,
Chris     

Cardboard Tube Samurai

Should be able to find what you need here http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=172&Itemid=200

Best option I'd say would be the 3PDT with true bypass as seen here http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/switch_lo_3pdt_ig_dcjack.gif

Best place to get the 3PDT switches is through Smallbear Electronics... do a search... there is a link on this site somewhere.

sfr