Favorite Optocoupler?

Started by wokeupfalling, April 06, 2007, 01:49:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wokeupfalling

I am building a remote expression pedal - and I am looking for some feedback on Optocouplers.

What's the best one out there?  Namely, what's the best brand...  Vactec, Silonex, Clairex?  Does it matter?

For my use, I don't know how picky I should be.  On the other hand, I don't mind paying for quality.

Opinions?  Please?

Thanks ~

Joe Kramer

Hey WUF,

Silonex NSL-32 is pretty reliable.  I've used it for compressors, phasers, tremolos, noise gates.  Small footprint, low current consumption.  Available through Allied Electronics, but maybe elsewhere too.  Be careful when experimenting, because the LED is sensitive to overvoltage/current.  I've popped a couple, so I buy extras!

Regards,
Joe
Solder first, ask questions later.

www.droolbrothers.com

darron

i have no experience with them, but i've read some of the datasheets. they tell you approximately the range in resistance for extremes of light/dark as well as their ratings. it seems what you should mostly consider when selecting one is how much photo-memory you want? some of them act smoother (more memory), which sounds like it would be quite beneficial, except that you couldn't get the same defined edges when you wanted to reverse the direction.

i was just looking at the stock at smallbearelec.com and i think i'll make an order (:

the pdf here is an excellent read!

http://www.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets_pdf/V/T/L/5/VTL5C3.shtml
Blood, Sweat & Flux. Pedals made with lasers and real wires!

oldrocker

I always make my own.  But I know some don't like to.  It always works for me though.  LED\LDR and shrink tube.  I made a DOD 280, Easyvibe, Ugly Face, Flatline Comp with that setup and never had any issues.

darron

Quote from: oldrocker on April 07, 2007, 02:42:40 PM