Passive A/B Switcher in relay form works but pops :-(

Started by simon111, April 10, 2007, 11:45:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

simon111

I have built the following in relay form..... (e.g. the 3pdt is replaced with a DPDT - as no lighting is needed)

http://www.fulltone.com/PDfFiles/AB_switcher.pdf

It works perfectly except for one thing. When switching it pops.

One channel e.g. B goes to a tuner and thus mutes the output of channel A this fine and causes very little to no pop.

But when switching back from the tuner to the main output e.g. Output B, it pops loudly. I have a rangemaster before it, and when bypassing this the pop isn't half as loud. I have added 1meg drop down resistors to the RM as I suspected that , but that doesn't seem to have helped much. ( i have no leds or lighting on this circuit so it's not that which is causing the noise)

I am thinking it's the relay, i.e. One side of the DPDT is switching faster than the other? could it be this?

Any ideas as to solve this problem?

Cheers in advance.
Simon111

R.G.

Relays have a built-in popping mechanism that is missing from stomp switches. The sudden change in voltage on the coil can couple to the signal contacts capacitively.

There are two ways around this.
(1) redesign the relay so the signal contacts are shielded from the coil. Some commercial relays are actually built this way.
(2) slow down the sudden voltage change on the coil so that it cannot couple effectively through the very small capacitances between the coil and the contacts.  See "Relays for audio switching" 28 December 2001 at GEO, http://www.geofex.com.

As a practical matter, you can either put a BFC (Big Freaking Capacitor) across the coil or otherwise slow down the voltage drive signals.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

simon111

Thanks RG for your info.