"Require" me some readin'

Started by ChrisPtacek, April 13, 2007, 11:57:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ChrisPtacek

So I am a newb, and I'm cool with that.  I've built a Marshall amp kit and modded it, and built a BYOC and done a lot of guitar electronics wiring, but I'm basically a total newb.  I know what resistors and caps are... I know diodes, etc.  That is to say "I know what they're doing" in several applications.  But I feel like I know enough to play with things, but not enough to be confident when sourcing parts or screwing around more seriously.

Can you guys recommend web links or books for basic electronics?  Right now, for instance, the thing that's kicking my butt is knowing what's appropriate for voltage ratings on caps, or power ratings for resistors, etc.  When I'm reading about mods, for say, a wah pedal, and thinking "I'd love to try that" I am often stopped in my tracks because part of the info I would think I need is missing... when someone says "Try 0.068µF for a bass wah" and I go looking for a part, how do I know what voltage to choose?  Do I just assume that it has to be 9v at minimum because of the pedal's draw?  How do I know what type of cap to choose?  Orange Drop, polyprop film, etc... I can't help but feel that there's something "I should know" that I don't, for doing this stuff.  Happy to do my homework... but can anyone assign some? 

O

I would start reading everything... yes, everything at www.geofex.com There is more than enough there to get you started on your way. Read and re-read especially "The Technology of *" R.G. breaks down popular circuits and explains how each block works and inter operates with the other circuit blocks.

caress

hmmm...to start with, there's a lot of useful information in the wiki http://www.diystompboxes.com/wiki/index.php?title=DIY_FAQ

also plenty of good tips here.  try searching for terms and different combinations of terms to find some good threads.