Thor opamp substitution options

Started by Ponchus, April 12, 2007, 10:26:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ponchus

Hey everyone- quasi-noob here...I just built an ROG Thor, got the enclosure hooked up lovely (I'll get some pics on here soon  :icon_mrgreen:), got the wiring done up pretty clean, and everything ready to fire up. The only thing left was to plug the trannys and opamp into the sockets (I always leave that for last) and D'OH!!! I ordered a freaking surface-mount version of the opamp (TL071) instead of a DIP 8!!! Did that with my last project too  :icon_mad: Why can't I get through ordering parts without forgetting something or ordering a wrong part!!!!??!

Anyway, enough of my venting. My question is about using an LM741 instead of a TL071. Instead of paying like $8 shipping from Mouser, I'd love to just swing by the Rat Shack to get whatever they have. Which turns out (as per their website) to be an LM741CN. Would this work, and secondly would this sound good?

Thanks

alderbody

just have on mind that the TL071 is a single op-amp.

check the relative datasheets.

btw, from my experience, the Thor with the "original" TL071 sounds awesome...

petemoore

Anyway, enough of my venting. My question is about using an LM741 instead of a TL071. Instead of paying like $8 shipping from Mouser, I'd love to just swing by the Rat Shack to get whatever they have. Which turns out (as per their website) to be an LM741CN. Would this work, and secondly would this sound good?
  Might sound better with a 741 I think, but no way of knowing.
  Observing that there are single opamps with different pinout than Dual Opamps, you'll be ok as long as the pins on the triangles and PS match the opamp.
  *If it's a dual opamp build, I'd get a TL082 from yer RS.
  I like using what I have or can get, *any dual will work well.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

dxm1