News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Sustainer

Started by Rattlehead, April 25, 2007, 10:56:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rattlehead

Is there such a pedal just a sustainer? because usually it's a compressor and a sustainer.

spudulike

Rattlehead

is there a pcb or perf/vero layout for this?
sorry, i'm a noob, so i kinda suck at reading schematics

dschwartz

18 volts? hmmm will it work at 9?
----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://www.simplifieramp.com

Mark Hammer

Quote from: Rattlehead on April 25, 2007, 10:56:14 AM
Is there such a pedal just a sustainer? because usually it's a compressor and a sustainer.
The short answer is No.  There is NO such thing as a sustainer pedal.  Compressors can create the illusion that strings are sustaining longer, but that is only because they adjust the volume difference between how loud the string is the moment you pick it, and how loud it is a bit later on.  If the volume is gradually turned up as the strong begins to die out then it seems like the string is sustaining at a high volume for a long time.  In reality, though, unless you are standing close enough to a loud amplifier such that high volume is making the strong vibrate longer, the compressor/sustainer pedal will not make the string vibrate any longer than it normally does.  Put a piece of masking tape over the top of the strings near the bridge, and I promise you that 10 "sustainer" pedals in a row won't make the strings vibrate any longer than they do without the pedals.