Toner transfer problem

Started by vince, April 29, 2007, 12:52:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vince

Hey guys,

This is my first time etching a PCB with the toner transfer method. I read many tutorials and think I followed the instructions correctly. I set my iron to the maximum temperature setting, and it was flaming hot. I left it initially around 30 seconds on the middle of the board, and then started to move it around. The photo paper used is the Staples one, and it burned almost instantly. Nothing of the toner transfered to the copper board. What I am doing !?!

Here's the result  :-[

I need help!
Thanks
Vincent

Seljer

err, maximum setting?
I haven't worked with anything other than overhead transparencies and press n peel for transfers but with both I've set the iron to the "nylon" setting, far from the maximum temperature

vince

Quote from: Seljer on April 29, 2007, 12:59:16 PM
err, maximum setting?
I haven't worked with anything other than overhead transparencies and press n peel for transfers but with both I've set the iron to the "nylon" setting, far from the maximum temperature

Well I read in different tutorials that the iron had to be set to the maximum setting...

From http://www.fullnet.com/~tomg/gooteepc.htm#1

"I use a regular handheld household electric CLOTHES IRON, set as HOT as it will go, i.e. the MAXIMUM temperature setting (called "Linen", on mine, just above the "Cotton" setting)"

From http://www.instructables.com/id/ENCYW0DICHEP2879AI/

"You need to set your iron to its highest setting, no steam"

mdh

Well, the tutorials are telling you one thing, but your own experience is telling you another. If the paper starts burning immediately, the iron is too hot. Turn the iron down a bit and try again. This isn't an exact science... there's too much variation in irons and paper to be able to give exact procedures.

zjokka