CMOS Inverters

Started by raulgrell, April 29, 2007, 02:01:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

raulgrell

Hey guys,
I was looking at a design over at runoffgroove.com, and it said they were trying to use all the 6 inverters in an CMOS4049 chip (or something along those lines) in order to make full use of it. Then I thought about how the guy at Analog Alchemy made a discrete op-amp with a couple of transistors and I was wondering whether the same could be done for a CMOS inverter.

I'm still a rookie, so this may sound completely idiotic, but I was reading up on CMOS's on the net and from what I gathered, one could possibly make one using 2 MOSFET's...

Anyone got any idea where to go from here? Or am I completely off?

aron

Well you can search google for discrete cmos inverter. Here's a page.

http://engr.nmsu.edu/~etti/spring97/electronics/cmos/cmostran.html

But the question is why do you want to do this?

BTW: there's a discrete op amp circuit in the projects forum.

Cliff Schecht

I think what he's wanting to do is instead of using one of the bigger CD4049 chips, he's just wanting to use an N-channel and a P-channel MOSFET. Raul, it sounds like you are trying to make some sort of transistor version of the CMOS chips but it's not as easy as you would think. CMOS stands for complimentary metal oxide semiconductor, the complementary denotes the fact that there are P and N channel FETs used on each one of those inverters to make the magic happen, if you will. Unlucky for you, there's a lot of other junk that goes into the 4049's and it's not really worth it to build an approximation of one unless you have a specific reason (i.e. tweaking values for a specific sound or timbre inside the inverter section of the schematic).

Hope this helps.

gez

Quote from: aron on April 29, 2007, 02:16:02 PM
But the question is why do you want to do this?