Fading switch pop w/LED

Started by sixstringphil, April 30, 2007, 03:59:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sixstringphil

My appologies in advance if I've missed this while searching the wiki and forum, but I'm having a switch pop issue (I'm using aron's 3pdt switches) that I haven't found addressed. I built an Orange Squeezer from the Tonepad pcb layout. Everything works nicely except when first powering up.  (using voodoo labs pedal power 2+) I'm having an intermitten switch pop that I'm trying to eliminate. Here's what I've found...

-the pop only occurs when the power supply is first turned on and the O.S. is switched from "off" to "on"
-if I switch back and forth a few times, the pop lessens and then goes away for good.
-If I turn on the power supply with the O.S. switched "on," there will be no popping when I switch "off".

I'm very new at this, so it's very possible that I'm misunderstanding some basics here. More than just knowing "how to fix," I'd appreciate someone pointing me to a resource of understanding what's possibly going on in this situation. I'm willing to read and experiment.

(I did not post the tonepad layout, but here is the link to the project on his site) http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=88

John Lyons

There are a few reasons for a popping switch but this layout has the bases covered so it shouldn't pop.
See if you can read DV voltage fron ground to the input of output pins on the switch.
Usually this is the cause of popping. When the effect is off (foot switch in bypass) the DC voltage builds up in the input or output caps.
WHen the switch in taken out of bypass (effect turned on) then the DC is sent to the inpout of the effect and you hear the POP!
If you switch on and off a couple times the DC is discharged and the POP isn't heard until the DC voltage is allowed to build up again.
There are times when a switch will be funky and pop as well.
See what you can measure at the switch.

John

Basic Audio Pedals
www.basicaudio.net/