Total Newbie!

Started by WKDLee, September 16, 2003, 03:30:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WKDLee

Hey !
i want to build my own Distortion pedal to make my tone unique, i have no expirence with Electronics :(  but i still want to have a go, can some tell me the basics of what i need to know please?
like what Tools do i need?
What Parts do i need?
where can i get these parts?
how much will this project cost?
how long will it take me?

thanks alot! :D

Chris R

Keep an eye on the Sticky Post up top on the list called 'Only inexperienced builders check this out :-)'

Aron (the owner of this site) will be hosting a newbie session.  This will be very beneficial.

C

MartyB

Hello and welcome to Aron's forum!
  At the top of this page there are two great links: "DIY FAQ" and GEO FAQ".  I'd start with a read of both.  Also check out the threads recently started by two other newbies : "daevid" and "Joyeuse".  They are both good and are both in the last two pages of posts here.
8) MartyB

WKDLee

Does any one know a site that has a tutorial on how to make a distortion pedal.

thank you :D

WKDLee

RDV

gez

This should give you some ideas (scroll down for typical clipper circuits)

http://users.chariot.net.au/~gmarts/ampovdrv.htm
"They always say there's nothing new under the sun.  I think that that's a big copout..."  Wayne Shorter

petemoore

Looking through the Small Bear Site, and building the tweak-O
 The Lpb 1 is what the newbie group has on the agenda,  it has everything going for it and is an unbeatable first build:
 Low parts count
 Ez to access parts
 Few nodes
 Easy biasing
 Great Booster [I use ALL the time], [I have 2].
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

fretbuzz2003