Marshall Shredmaster questions

Started by marcoharder, May 25, 2007, 11:35:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

marcoharder

Hi! I have a Marshall Shredmaster with me but is currently showing a problem. The effect is working in both effect and bypass modes, but the thing is that when I turn the pedal on to effect mode, the LED only lights up for a split second and goes off. However, the effect still remains and when I press it again, the effect is bypassed.

My worry about this is that in clubs with extremely bad acosutics or PA systems, I sometimes have a hard time determining whether the pedal is on since I cascade it with another pedal. What do you think is the problem here?

Thanks!

Marco

PS. I also am planning to make a Marshall Shredmaster clone. Any links to PCB patterns and parts layouts? :) Thanks

km-r

check the bypass switch...
i think it has true bypass...

btw, how does it sound? im intrigued by the schem...
Look at it this way- everyone rags on air guitar here because everyone can play guitar.  If we were on a lawn mower forum, air guitar would be okay and they would ridicule air mowing.

marcoharder

Well it's a smooth distortion and a bit on the bassy side of things. What do I check for in the switch? How does it explain the momentary lighting of the LED?

petemoore

If it's using 3pdt true bypass w/LED bypass wiring...
  It would be likely that the LED is seeing voltage for a split second, then none.
  This can be measured easily enough.
  probable causes include a wire that bouces to touch/connect...bluntly hit the pedal from different angles to see if you can make the wire touch/led light,
  or, a switch which momentarily contacts, a fairly common failing to mechanical switches, this can easily be tested, power off, connect DMM across the LED's switch lugs, a functioning switch will connect / not connect 'solidly' when activated.