Blues Driver Diode Mod

Started by negativejohn, May 29, 2007, 05:07:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

negativejohn

Have a blues driver I'd like to change one of the clipping diodes out, was thinking of taking one of the ones out of series (such as D3) and replacing it with an led, for assymetrical clipping, good or bad idea? Thanks

MartyMart

D7/D8 and D9/D10 are the cilpping diodes, take out one pair eg: D7&D8 and try an LED across
the pads where both where, or a 1N4001/2 power diode instead of just D7 for assym clipping.
MM.
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"
My Website www.martinlister.com

negativejohn

Thanks for the help Marty. Im quite new to this as you could probably tell. So just take out a diode pair such as d7 & d8 and bridge each leg of the led across the two terminals of each side  where the diodes were?

MartyMart

Quote from: negativejohn on May 29, 2007, 06:14:42 AM
Thanks for the help Marty. Im quite new to this as you could probably tell. So just take out a diode pair such as d7 & d8 and bridge each leg of the led across the two terminals of each side  where the diodes were?

Yes, just remember to line up cathode and anode, cathode should have ->l marked on the board, the shorter lead of an
LED is the cathode and longer is "positive" anode, diodes that you remove will have a small black "band" at one end to
indicate the cathode too.
MM
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"

negativejohn

Also, I will be using a used LED, I imagine I can just test and see which side is cathode and anode by hooking it up to a 9v? I have not been able to find this out through research thus far. Thanks.

dmk

Quote from: negativejohn on May 30, 2007, 12:06:36 PM
Also, I will be using a used LED, I imagine I can just test and see which side is cathode and anode by hooking it up to a 9v? I have not been able to find this out through research thus far. Thanks.