those with kids, any promise for the DIY?

Started by runmikeyrun, June 03, 2007, 05:57:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

runmikeyrun

my daughter is almost two.  EVERYTHING she gets her hands on for the first time she just stares and analyzes it, sees how everything works, and tries to (or succeeds in) taking it apart.  You can see the wheels turning.  My dad said i was the same way, and my mom used to laugh at me when i was a kid because when i would buy something like an electric squirt gun or RC car i took it apart as soon as i got it home.  My brother and I were infatuated with building things- started with Legos and went on to all kinds of forts, lean-tos, treehouses, then on to mini bikes and small engines, then dirt bikes, cars, trucks, and now that my brother is 29 and a biomechanical engineer he STILL builds legos! 

I am a paramedic and while i try NOT to take anyone apart the human body fascinates me because it really is just one big machine.  The heart is completely controlled by electricity and  and an EKG strip is just a waveform if you will of electricity as it passes through the heart.  There can be hundreds of variations based on problems conduction the electricity to make it beat.  So far, I haven't gotten one into a stompbox.  Yet ;)

I joke with my wife that in a few years she's going to be trying to pull me AND my daughter out of the basement or garage for lunch, dinner, bedtime, always answered with the response "just a few more minutes!"  All kidding aside, just wondering if anyone else's kids are into your hobbies, whether its electronics or playing guitar/bass. 
Bassist for Foul Spirits
Head tinkerer at Torch Effects
Instagram: @torcheffects

Dislikes: old women

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

years ago, I asked someone what his (then tiny) kids wanted to do.
"Anything that YOU are doing" he laughed.
Of course, it is true. That is how they are wired, "monkey see, monkey do".
I don't have kids myself, but I see plenty of them & read to them.