Distortion stompbox for death metal

Started by needlework, June 06, 2007, 02:53:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

needlework

First of all, Hi to all.

I'm quite new to DIY (i'm trying to educate myself with all the FAQs and tutorials I can find o'er the web, and this forum is like Garden of Eden) and I was wondering about one question above all:

what is the BEST (I now it's totally subjective) distortion stompbox for use in death metal?

Help me! (and excuse me for my bad english ;) )

MartyMart

Hi back to you and welcome :-)
OK, so you're after a HUGE distorted sound - possibly "scooped" mids ....
Some suggestions to search for here :
Univox Superfuzz
Blackfire
Dr Boogey
Vulcan & Jfet Vulcan
Big Muff PI
Simpler things from www.runoffgroove.com :
Grace/Big Daddy
Whisker biscuit
Thor - though perhaps not heavy enough, GREAT and can be pushed with a booster.

MM.
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"
My Website www.martinlister.com

needlework

Jurgen

Depends on what kind of DM sound you are going for. Some general quidelines:

The Morbid Angel guitar sound is basically just a Proco RAT (other similar overdrive/distortion pedals will work too) into a Marshall (probably a JCM800 or JCM900.) Most of the distortion comes from the amp, with the pedal just giving the extra dirt that's needed.

A Boss Metal Zone is good for that scooped Suffocation/Cannibal Corpse style sound. Just set the gain to taste, adjust the bass so that it's punchy but not boomy and the treble so that it's sizzly enough. Set mids according to taste, but don't scoop too much, 'cause that's just gay (in more politically correct terms, it'll make your guitar disappear with a band.)

That sick Swedish death metal sound (Dismember, Entombed etc.) is achieved with a Boss Heavy Metal pedal (HM-1 or HM-2, can't remember which one it was) into pretty much any crappy amp (Sunlight studios had a Peavey in those days, probably a cheap solid-state one.)