Author Topic: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?  (Read 159353 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #100 on: September 22, 2012, 03:12:23 PM »
dudes...i believe i'm getting a space station tomorrow...could that be converted to an "all" by someone of my (low) skill levels? :icon_twisted:

Get the SS to an "ALL" is fairly easy. Personally, I wouldn't mess with it. It's worth way more in it's original state.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

pinkjimiphoton

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 5797
  • Total likes: 295
  • High priest, Cult of Germanium, and Dudeist Monk
    • odds are i'm probably banned  here...
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #101 on: September 22, 2012, 11:24:05 PM »
but...


i godda modulator, too. ;)

perhaps that would be a better candidate? ;)
digi2t:
"Fuzz, distortion, and wah, are plenty abound. Mutron Flanger, not so much.  8)"
#FuzzyGoodness

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #102 on: September 23, 2012, 09:29:05 AM »
but...


i godda modulator, too. ;)

perhaps that would be a better candidate? ;)

Mod the modulator  ;D

Keep the SS stock  ;)
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

pinkjimiphoton

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 5797
  • Total likes: 295
  • High priest, Cult of Germanium, and Dudeist Monk
    • odds are i'm probably banned  here...
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #103 on: September 23, 2012, 11:57:07 AM »
sounds like a plan!! ;)

i just tried them for the first time.

man...that space station is on ACID

the modulator is cool, but not so very...

gotta lot of stuff to sort thru, including a couple old-school MIUSA eh micro synths etc..
digi2t:
"Fuzz, distortion, and wah, are plenty abound. Mutron Flanger, not so much.  8)"
#FuzzyGoodness

rocket

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #104 on: September 26, 2012, 05:40:55 PM »
is there a list of all the programs (sounds) of each of the 4 pedals?
if not could the lucky owners of the originals please create it or just scan the bottom?

I can contriute the xp400 once I've received it.

pinkjimiphoton

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 5797
  • Total likes: 295
  • High priest, Cult of Germanium, and Dudeist Monk
    • odds are i'm probably banned  here...
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #105 on: September 26, 2012, 05:46:00 PM »
hi rocket,
thanks for your kind and awesome offer, i believe that the 400 is already copied.

that said...you can get a listing of all the presets, digitech's web site has all the owner's manuals, with full patch listings for them.

i've got an XPALL being built up ,
i am so damn psyched i can barely contain myself!

seriously considering making a live setup with that, a fuzzface, my crybaby, and a gt5 so i can move the xp to wherever it sounds best in the chain.
digi2t:
"Fuzz, distortion, and wah, are plenty abound. Mutron Flanger, not so much.  8)"
#FuzzyGoodness

rocket

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #106 on: September 26, 2012, 06:44:18 PM »
could you please post a link to the patches?
I only found this: ftp://ftp.digitech.com/pub/pdfs/Discontinued/Manuals/XP300.pdf
there are no patches given, neither in the XP400.pdf at th same place

pinkjimiphoton

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 5797
  • Total likes: 295
  • High priest, Cult of Germanium, and Dudeist Monk
    • odds are i'm probably banned  here...
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #107 on: September 26, 2012, 10:01:25 PM »
i can post the space station patches for ya when i get a chance, the modulation station shipped out today to be modified, sorry bro
digi2t:
"Fuzz, distortion, and wah, are plenty abound. Mutron Flanger, not so much.  8)"
#FuzzyGoodness

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #108 on: September 27, 2012, 12:43:31 AM »
I'm almost finished the build guide for the XP-100 to XP-ALL conversion (freakin' brick!)

Anywho, I've added all the factory patches of all the models at the end of document.

It's now in Greg's hands for editing/correction. Should have it done soon.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

pinkjimiphoton

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 5797
  • Total likes: 295
  • High priest, Cult of Germanium, and Dudeist Monk
    • odds are i'm probably banned  here...
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #109 on: September 27, 2012, 12:49:19 AM »
awesome...
my modulator went out to him today for the conversion...dino, check your pm's please. ;)
digi2t:
"Fuzz, distortion, and wah, are plenty abound. Mutron Flanger, not so much.  8)"
#FuzzyGoodness

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #110 on: September 29, 2012, 08:05:08 AM »
greets all,
i got myself a whammy few days ago, and then came across these pages.. plenty of usefull information here !
so now i'm exited to uprade it to a xp100/200/300 as the 400 is not so interesting to me.
so i downloaded the bin files from here and got some memory from ebay, so now i'm in the proces of playing with the whammy til all parts arive..
i was thinking, to convert this pedal into a bass whammy, is that also a matter of eprom swapping, or has it to do with elco values like in analog pedals ?
i was also thinking it might be very easy to make an CV input for the pedal, like just a female minijack connector attached to a LED in front of the photoresistor.. any thoughts on that?

thanks a lot to al you guys for being helpfull and sharing information, you made me very enthousiastic  :)

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #111 on: September 29, 2012, 03:13:25 PM »
Quote
i got myself a whammy few days ago

Did you get a Whammy, or an XP-100? Two completely different beasts. The Whammy cannot be converted to other XP models. Could you please post a picture of the model you have?

Quote
i was thinking, to convert this pedal into a bass whammy, is that also a matter of eprom swapping, or has it to do with elco values like in analog pedals

I don`t know, but by the looks of it, again, totally different beast.

Quote
i was also thinking it might be very easy to make an CV input for the pedal, like just a female minijack connector attached to a LED in front of the photoresistor.. any thoughts on that?

I`m sure it would be possible. Do a search on the forum, I`m sure that there is a scheme available to fit your application.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #112 on: September 29, 2012, 06:05:46 PM »
Did you get a Whammy, or an XP-100? Two completely different beasts. The Whammy cannot be converted to other XP models. Could you please post a picture of the model you have?
yes, the xp100 it is :)

the person i got the eproms from, burned both the .BIN files (xp200 and xp300) on one eprom 27512
he says they fit both on one eprom and i can enable each by connecting pin 27 either to 5V or to ground.

would that work you think?
i'm sorry if my questions are a bit silly, it is a whole new world for me  :icon_redface:

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #113 on: September 29, 2012, 06:15:50 PM »
the person i got the eproms from, burned both the .BIN files (xp200 and xp300) on one eprom 27512
he says they fit both on one eprom and i can enable each by connecting pin 27 either to 5V or to ground.
would that work you think?

You can always try. It will be a gamble though as the XP series was built and programed to use the 27C256 series EPROMs.

If you decide to try.... definitely report back! Enquiring minds WANT TO KNOW!   ;D
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #114 on: September 29, 2012, 06:31:03 PM »
i guess i wil give it a try, he burned the EPROMs allready anyway
i definately report back to you if this works :icon_biggrin:
but first have to wait for the memory to arrive

..i want that spacestation so badly, what a cool FX that is :o

mwynwood

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #115 on: September 30, 2012, 02:41:50 AM »
Hi guys,
Help! I'm having some trouble.
It doesn't matter what the switch is doing, it's always an XP-100!
Have I missed something?
Marcus Wynwood
My Build Blog
MarcusGuitar.com

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #116 on: September 30, 2012, 09:08:25 AM »
Hi guys,
Help! I'm having some trouble.
It doesn't matter what the switch is doing, it's always an XP-100!
Have I missed something?


You`re missing the 74HC574 chip, it goes just to the left of the EPROM. It`s an SMD package.

Do not pass go, do not collect 200$.  :icon_mrgreen:

Kind of hard to tell from the pic, but I think that`s all you`re missing.

Build guide will be out this week, you`ll be able to go through it, and check list your build.

Cheers,
Dino
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #117 on: September 30, 2012, 09:47:19 AM »
Hi guys,
Help! I'm having some trouble.
It doesn't matter what the switch is doing, it's always an XP-100!
Have I missed something?


In addition to missing the SMD chip that digi2t stated, you also have a wiring problem. It will be addressed in the build documents but I will explain.

It has to do with there your RED wire is going. I know that digi2t wired his conversion this way however, it leads to problems once you want to use the stereo output jack.

To fix the problem, you will need to desolder your red wire from where it is on the PCB and solder it DIRECTLY TO THE SLEEVE TAB ON J2 (right output jack)

Trust me  ;)

I have done several of these conversions and it will not work correctly the way you currently have it wired.

I'm sure digi2t will back me up on this one  ;D
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #118 on: September 30, 2012, 11:18:39 AM »
Quote
I'm sure digi2t will back me up on this one 

Backed up. 1000%... he`s the Daddy! Wire it as Greg says.

P.S. Greg, is the doc OK. If so, I`ll get it out.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #119 on: September 30, 2012, 12:02:55 PM »
I say release the hounds bro!

I am sure there will be questions anyways  ;)

Might wanna start a new thread with the link and a place for questions.  :icon_cool:
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’