Author Topic: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?  (Read 159280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mwynwood

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #60 on: May 30, 2012, 11:15:06 PM »
Hi digi2t,
I've just received a new 27C256 chip in the mail today, and it would be awesome if you could PM me with your details and how I can pay you  :icon_biggrin:
Thanks SO much!
Marcus Wynwood
My Build Blog
MarcusGuitar.com

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #61 on: May 30, 2012, 11:35:16 PM »
digi2t: Great results, congrats!

Thank you sir. The Whammy is really easy to do. Thanks to you for your help as well! :icon_biggrin:

Hi digi2t,
I've just received a new 27C256 chip in the mail today, and it would be awesome if you could PM me with your details and how I can pay you  :icon_biggrin:
Thanks SO much!

PM sent.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

mwynwood

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #62 on: June 07, 2012, 06:41:17 AM »
I just completed the "Unity Mod" and it works great  :icon_biggrin:
Also, I soldered in all the sockets for the ICs - can't wait until they arrive!
Marcus Wynwood
My Build Blog
MarcusGuitar.com

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #63 on: June 07, 2012, 02:34:22 PM »
I just completed the "Unity Mod" and it works great  :icon_biggrin:
Also, I soldered in all the sockets for the ICs - can't wait until they arrive!


Marcus,

How did you disconnect the LED board from the main PCB to pull it out for the IC sockets? Did you desolder the wires from the LED board -OR- from the main PCB?

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

mwynwood

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #64 on: June 07, 2012, 07:16:17 PM »
I didn't need to do either.
There is just enough room to squeeze the main board out and flip it upside down without un-soldering anything.
Marcus Wynwood
My Build Blog
MarcusGuitar.com

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #65 on: June 08, 2012, 12:22:10 PM »
I didn't need to do either.
There is just enough room to squeeze the main board out and flip it upside down without un-soldering anything.

Lucky bugger!!!!

Mine wouldn`t come out, on neither unit. Had to desolder the little board off the arm.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #66 on: June 13, 2012, 07:37:10 AM »
I should have a reverberator on saturday. Anyone interested in the reverberator program?

Digi2t,  If you want I can send you the eeprom with the reverberator program so you can copy it and share it with others
If you then could write the SS and modulator programs on some blank eeproms which I will add.
I'll PM you in a few days

I'll keep you guys updated on the modding process of the reverberator and I am sure at some point  I will need help from some of you. :)

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #67 on: June 13, 2012, 12:03:44 PM »
I should have a reverberator on saturday. Anyone interested in the reverberator program?

Digi2t,  If you want I can send you the eeprom with the reverberator program so you can copy it and share it with others
If you then could write the SS and modulator programs on some blank eeproms which I will add.
I'll PM you in a few days

I'll keep you guys updated on the modding process of the reverberator and I am sure at some point  I will need help from some of you. :)

That sounds great. I`ll stay tuned for your PM. I`ll send the specs for the 27C256 chips that you`ll need then.

Cheers,
Dino
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #68 on: June 13, 2012, 12:15:55 PM »

That sounds great. I`ll stay tuned for your PM. I`ll send the specs for the 27C256 chips that you`ll need then.

Cheers,
Dino
I might also check with a friend if he can read the program from the eeprom and then I can send you the program straight away.

Anyway, I'll keep you updated.

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #69 on: June 13, 2012, 02:42:56 PM »
Thanks man.

And BTW, welcome to the best damn stompbox forum on the planet.  :icon_biggrin:

Cheers,
Dino
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #70 on: June 14, 2012, 04:31:22 AM »
Hehe, thanks for the welcome.
I have been lurking around for a few weeks, but I thought it was time to make a contribution.
Saturday evening I should get the reverberator, so on Sunday I should have some news for you. Let's hope al goes well.

In the mean time, I will order the eprom.
On ebay I have found 2 kind of chips which seem suitable:
M27C256B-15F6http://www.benl.ebay.be/itm/M27C256B-15F6-UV-EPROM-MIT-FENSTER-NEU-1-STUCK-/220901718670?pt=Bauteile&hash=item336ec4ba8e
M27C256B -10F1http://www.benl.ebay.be/itm/M27C256B-10F1-UV-EPROM-MIT-FENSTER-1-STUCK-/221043739547?pt=Bauteile&hash=item33773bcb9b
You happen to know what the difference is between the 15F6 and the 10F1?
I've tried to google it, but that was hopeless :)
In the end my question is more: what are the important parameters to look at? pin-layout, speed, ...

If my friend would have the equipment to write eeproms, an eeprom should also work I guess? The only difference would then be the way the memory is erased.

Yeah, I am a total noob at digital electronics. :)

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #71 on: June 14, 2012, 05:49:53 AM »
Ok, after some more googling I found it.
15F6 has 150ns access time and 10F1 has 100ns access time.
I guess it's better to buy the faster one.

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #72 on: June 15, 2012, 12:14:12 AM »
Ok, after some more googling I found it.
15F6 has 150ns access time and 10F1 has 100ns access time.
I guess it's better to buy the faster one.

Yes, go for the faster one. There's generally little difference in the price.
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #73 on: June 17, 2012, 10:56:06 AM »
Ok, so I got hold of the reverberator yesterday.
My friend will try to read the program from the eprom.

I should have the program for the reverberator somewhere this week.

We would also try to write the programs ourselves on the eproms.

So are there any specific instructions for the reading and the writing proces, i.e. the format in which the data should be stored or written?

For the piggybacking of the ic, the link does not work anymore.
The best description I could find on the internet is http://members.optusnet.com.au/tonymy01/magnavox/indexbod.html

Does anyone of you have a more specific description for the  27C256 chips? Which pin needs to be connected to the switch? If I look at this picture:

It should be pin 20. Which resistor value should be used for the bridge between Vcc and ce? Also 27K, like in the website I just quoted?

For R38, can I use a "normal sized" resistor or do I need to use these smaller resistors as used for the rest of the board?
Digi2t, I inspected the photos of your modulator mod and is R38 on the other side of the board, because I don't see it.
Also for the Output mod, with the green wire you solder 2 legs to the casing of the pot. Is this to ground it?

Hehe, I have too many questions...

I'll keep you guys updated on the progress!

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #74 on: June 17, 2012, 11:55:09 AM »
@somnabula

Most of the questions you have asked have been discussed in this thread. If you go back and follow Digi2t's posts as well as others, you will find most of the answers you need.

Good Luck   ;D
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #75 on: June 17, 2012, 02:50:45 PM »
Hehe, I went throught this thread a countless number of times, but because of your post I checked it again and indeed I have now found that the programs should be written and read as .bin files. :)

I am quite a n00b at digital electronics, so can you answer the other questions for me? :)

digi2t

  • Poster2
  • **
  • Posts: 4067
  • Total likes: 654
  • "Digital? Any idiot can count to 1!" - Bob Widlar
Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #76 on: June 17, 2012, 09:13:41 PM »
Hehe, I went throught this thread a countless number of times, but because of your post I checked it again and indeed I have now found that the programs should be written and read as .bin files. :)

I am quite a n00b at digital electronics, so can you answer the other questions for me? :)

If you have a chip reader/burner, you should also have a GUI of some kind to run it. If you can read the chip, you can save it as a .bin through the burner's GUI. You can save it as a .txt file as well. Both work with my burner.

If you don't, you may send me the chip, and I can extract the code. I'll send the chip back to you after.

Cheers,
Dino
"No matter how many times I cut it.... it's STILL too short!!

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #77 on: June 18, 2012, 10:05:56 AM »
Digi2t
Thanks for the offer, but it should be ok.

Also for the piggybacking of the ic's I've done some more reading and I think I understand it better now.
Just to check if I understand it correctly. The eprom is activated when the CE port sees the VDD and it is deactivated when it is grounded? Or is it the other way around?
And I guess the the value of the resistor doesn't matter as long as it is in the same order of magnitude as it is there to keep the currents small when the CE port is grounded.

I'll PM you once I have the reverberator program from the eprom.

Cheers,

Reni

Govmnt_Lacky

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #78 on: June 18, 2012, 10:51:44 AM »
I'll PM you once I have the reverberator program from the eprom.

Reni,

Please post here if you get the code off to Digi2t. I was going to do the same thing (send him a 400 chip) but if you recover the code then I need not send it off  ;D
A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’

somnabula

Re: thoughts on Digitech Space Station eprom copying?
« Reply #79 on: June 18, 2012, 11:16:49 AM »
Ok, I'll keep you informed.  ;)