TDA7231A 1.6W audio amplifier

Started by timo, June 28, 2007, 09:40:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

timo

Hi guys,

I had a bad cramp while surfing at Ebay and found myself having bought a bunch of these:

http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/1466/tda7231a.pdf

TDA7231A 1.6W audio amplifier

For a total newbie it doesn't look like a bad chip for a Ruby-like mini-amp. It has fixed gain of 38dB but twice the input impedance of the 386 chip. The reference design has only eight parts in it, including the chip. It's in the standard DIP8 packaging I believe. And to top it all it says "soft clipping" (toob-like, eh?) :)

So, am I onto something here? And any ideas on improving the reference design would also be nice.

Mark Hammer

1) Nice little chip.  Of particular interest is the quiescent current spec (how much current it's drawing when you aren't feeding it a signal and asking it to do something), which is stated as 3.6ma typical.  That's pretty damn good.  The LM386 draws 4ma, which isn't much more, but when you get into power chips of comparable output (e.g., the LM380), you're looking at 7ma and more.  What does this mean for you or other builders?  Longer battery life, since much of the amp's "on" time is actually silence and spaces between notes.

2) One robust little sucker.  You could effectively operate it off a 3v lithium coin cell if you felt like it, but could also feed it up to an ampere at 12v.  If temperature is effectively managed, that little bugger can pump out as much as 4W!  Let's see a 380 do that!

While the datasheet does provide the convenience of a layout, consider perfing or vectoring it with a heatsink of some sort and a 12V supply (8 C or D cells).  Feed that into a 10" or 12" speaker and you'd have a seriously loud practice or busking amp.  Certainly potentially loud enough to run off batteries and take on camping trips or to the beach or wherever.

timo

Wow, thanks Mark!  :icon_mrgreen: