New to building, What should i build for my 1st Project???

Started by tkwon, September 17, 2003, 01:12:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tkwon

Im new to buiding, and I want to find a good first project to start on.  I saw some F/X building books online, Is that a good thing to get?...I saw alot of resources online, but theres so many I dont know what to do.  I want to build something that i can use with my bass.  So do you have any suggestions on whats a good F/X to start with.  Building stompboxes seems like a lot of fun.  Thanks for the help.

Mark Hammer

Normally, recommendations from people when answering this question revolve around fuzzes or things that are easy to build or have interesting sounds or inexpensively mimic a costly commercial device.

I'll try a different track for once. If you are starting from scratch one of the biggest hurdles is getting a sufficient bin of parts, tools, etc to put a "simple project" together.  People underestimate how much easier it is to build something "simple" after they have amassed a storehouse of resources and expertise.

One of the things that will be common to *every* pedal you might make, though, is a box, a switch, and jacks.  Though the switch may be tricky to find locally, boxes and jacks will be obtainable everywhere there is a Radio Shack and probably even more readily than that.

There have been several threads here and on Ampage over the recent past regarding loop-switchers.  This is a box that essentially lets you treat you 438 fuzzes plugged one into the other as if they were one giant effect and switch the whole thing in or out.  Such a box also doubles as an A/B amp switcher, letting you direct your bass signal to one output or the other.  There are a myriad of other uses, but the nice thing is that you can build a basic version for about $25 worth of parts, it never needs batteries, there is nothing to burn out, and it never goes out of style or loses its utility.

That's my vote.

PB Wilson