How To Add An Output Level Pot

Started by railhead, July 30, 2007, 01:23:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

railhead

I have another newbie-ish question.

Let's say I want to add an output level/volume pot to an effect. Would I just take the "hot" signal and tap it to the pot lug before I pass it to the output jack?

zhx

Basically yes

Effect output signal to lug one, wiper (lug 2) to output jack tip and lug three to ground usually works fine. Often 100K log does the trick.

railhead

Sweet, thanks. :)

I'm assuming that the jump to a 250k pot would really do nothing but allow a bit more fine tuning of the output level, right?

zhx

Hmm... I'm not an expert on the subject, but ...

When the pot is "full open", then there's xxxK resistance to ground and zero resistance to output.
When it's "full closed", then its vice versa, right?

I think the resistance to ground determines the output. When there's no resistance, all of the signal goes to ground, thus no sound. The bigger the resistance -> more output. So I guess you're right. There could also be bit more output volume, not shure though. I recommend you try it and see how it works.

Thanks for letting me clear this out to myself also. When I started writing this a few minutes ago, I was about to say the opposite, but it seems I came to another conclusion. Thinking with my keyboard, cool! :)

EDIT: Now that I think of it again, I'm not sure my conclusion was solid. If we assume 100k to ground is enough to let full volume to output, then increasing that value would not do anything but shorten the range.

Like this: (turning the pot)
250k to ground  -> full output
200k to ground -> full output
150k to ground -> full output
100k to ground -> full output
90k to ground -> sligth decrease to output  --- at this point we have turned the knob over half of its cycle.

Then again I left out the resistance to output. That has an adverse effect. So I'm saying that I'm not sure. Sorry.

railhead