Split a signal between clean and boosted for a HR-2 reference

Started by DiamondDog, August 26, 2007, 09:58:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DiamondDog

Hi, Y'all! Straight into it. As an electronics guy, I'm a good guitar teacher. I'm also one of those pains that knows what he wants, and has no idea how to do it or cares if it's even possible- but I'm trying to learn at least a little bit!

Scenario-

I have a Boss HR-2 in my pedal chain. The HR-2 has two inputs- the signal as it has been processed to that point, and in addition the option of a clean reference signal to make its choice of harmonies easier*. "detector in" on the picture. The HR-2 feeds a Boss DC-3 (the pink Digital Dimension) into two channels with a delay and amp on each, so if the HR-2 is not happy, the sound is 100% certified total crap, many times over and in 3-D.

My first pedal is normally the AMZ Mosfet booster, although a SparkleBoost may be taking over... Let's just call the first pedal "Booster".

Idea-

From what I can imagine, the ideal place to pick up the clean signal is before the first effects circuit touches said signal. Therefore, I would like to run the reference signal from the booster, maybe picking up a signal from after entry into the box, but before hitting the circuit. This would mean 3 x 1/4 in sockets- one in, one boosted output, one raw output for the reference signal.

Questions-

What is the best way of doing this without eroding the main sound? Playing on the breadboard, my initial thought of putting an extra socket in between the input and the circuit board like some sort of y-splitter. However this showed that this extra socket was acting like a second input (according to the blurt test). Not what I was after at all, but understandable now I think of it.

What can be put between input and this extra socket to make it an out-only socket?