how do you guys avoid the fumes

Started by stopstopsmile, September 05, 2007, 08:34:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stopstopsmile

seriously i built a little project and damn the fumes were awful, i felt pretty crappy afterwards.  Maybe there is less toxic solder, less toxic parts or a different way of doing this.  Jeez, next time I might have to have a full body suit on just to put together something. 

foxfire

i don't know what kind of solder you're using but, i like the sell of flux in the morning.

MarcoMike

I'm kind of lucky about it... I'm a chemist, so I can use our fume hood for soldering. ;)
I guess this is not the best thing to install in your living room (probably it will not match the style of you furniture...)

you may try to make a fumes-extractor, maybe just with a flexible pipe and a PC fan (the big one).
Only those who attempt the absurd will achieve the impossible.

markm

Quote from: foxfire on September 05, 2007, 08:45:30 AM
i don't know what kind of solder you're using but, i like the sell of flux in the morning.
......it smells like Victory!  ;D

Hiwatt25

I built myself a little solder fume abatement device.  It was pretty easy too.  I bought some flex duct, put a small fan in-line and attached it to a piece of scrap masonite that I cut to the size of my window opening.  This way, I can solder in doors. and the fumes get sucked out of the house. 

Toney

Way to go!!!

Or... the simple method.
I like to set up a card table on the balcony of my apartment and (weather permitting) solder against a gentle breeze.
Bit of a bitch finding dropped components though...

I live in Melbourne Australia. It's a lot colder than you might imagine!

Dragonfly

its pretty simple to build a solder fume filter

get a small fan
get a "sheet" style carbon filter ...like the ones you use on top of a cat litter box