I am sucking at this breadboard thing. Those who use em, some advice please

Started by stopstopsmile, October 06, 2007, 06:57:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stopstopsmile

Hey guys,
I dabbled with a breadboard and I just don't quite grasp it.  I have read online as much as I could find and figured that I would be ready to go but I seem to keep having bugs in my circuits and circuits that don't work.  I just don't understand the breadboard, I thought I did.

I know this is total NOOB, and something that is easy for most.  But for me I am having a hard time with it.

I was hoping someone could give me an explanation of how it all works, how they use it, etc.  Basically a refresher.

I am erasing my knowledge of it, going to take a nap, and try again later today.  So I was hoping for a fresh start.

Any tips, pointers, guides, info, anything to help me get this working would be fantastic and greatly appreciated.

thanks guys :)

Auke Haarsma

A simple search with "How to use breadboard" resulted in this thread:

http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=59855.0

Which covers pretty much what you need to know I think.

Good luck! Once you understand a bb it is a really nice tool to work with!

gez

When I first bought a bread board it took a while for me to understand how it worked, so you're not alone!  Stick with it: a little time spent familiarising yourself with it now will save you hours of time/headaches in the future. 

With the breadboards I use, there are breaks in the 'ground buses' (the red/black coloured power-rails that connect the various segments of the board).  I didn't realise this at first, until I cracked open my DMM to find out why I wasn't getting power to my circuits.  What was required were jumpers between each section.  Something to bear in mind.
"They always say there's nothing new under the sun.  I think that that's a big copout..."  Wayne Shorter

8mileshigh