Am I being unrealistic? NOOB perf problems.

Started by stopstopsmile, October 19, 2007, 03:14:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stopstopsmile

I have been playing around with effects for a few years.  Just basic stuff.  Never got into schematics or anything until recently.

I can build a PCB type, BYOC kits, Vero, and I have built a few simple perfs if someone gave me a lay out.

I understand a schematic to where I understand the input and the output and all the components in between.

I can tell you what parts are needed for the circuit by looking at the schematic, I understand electrolytic and polarity in the caps, I understand the pins on transistors, etc.

I have been trying my hardest to figure out how to take a schematic and build my own perf builds with my own layouts.

Is this something that just takes a long time to understand?  I feel very frustrated.  I just want to be able to take a schematic and convert it into a perf layout and be able to build that circuit.

I am not talking difficult circuits either, I want to build tonebenders, fuzzfaces, tubescreamers, boosts
that type of stuff.

can someone give me some advice, guidance, tips, etc.? 

thank you

johngreene

Quote from: stopstopsmile on October 19, 2007, 03:14:35 PM
I have been playing around with effects for a few years.  Just basic stuff.  Never got into schematics or anything until recently.

I can build a PCB type, BYOC kits, Vero, and I have built a few simple perfs if someone gave me a lay out.

I understand a schematic to where I understand the input and the output and all the components in between.

I can tell you what parts are needed for the circuit by looking at the schematic, I understand electrolytic and polarity in the caps, I understand the pins on transistors, etc.

I have been trying my hardest to figure out how to take a schematic and build my own perf builds with my own layouts.