Building a DI box

Started by tenchijin2, October 21, 2007, 03:26:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tenchijin2

So I'd like to build a nice DI box to go directly into my A/D converter (via XLR). I'm very new to this.

I currently don't own a DI box, all my preamps have DI inputs so it's not an issue. My goal is to plug the DI in without using one of my preamp channels to get more simultaneous inputs.

So far I've found plans for the "countryhick"
http://www.diyfactory.com/projects/countryhick/countryhick.htm

and a JLM DI
http://www.jlmaudio.com/JLMDI.htm

Edit: it would need an output level control (like a preamp) since it will be going directly to my A/D converter.

I'd like to power it with one or two 9v batteries. Preferably two, because I understand that improves headroom. Do I recalculate the resistors on the power input side to regulate the voltage?

I'm unclear whether I'll *need* an output transformer in either of these plans. I'm looking to do this with little cost, so I'm hoping not to need the transformer.

I realize these are like pre-school level questions, but I promise I'll learn if you help!

Thanks,

Aric

scottso

tenchijin2

Thanks Scottso!

Two problems with that one for me: I am still not able/willing to make my own PCB (which is not a deal killer but a dissuader for sure!), and that design doesn't have an output gain control, which I'll need if I'm going directly to my A/D converter.

Aric

scottso

Ah.. well you could always perfboard it. :)  Its a pretty small circuit.  I laid out a PCB for it and it was only 1.5 by 2.5 inches with a TON of space for fat traces.  You could probably easily fit it on one of those small RadioShack perfboards.

As for the output gain, you could always skip the switch for the input gain control and hardwire it to use the pot for the speaker input.