limiting power from 9v or adapter to the board to 4.5v

Started by jschwalls, December 29, 2007, 03:53:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jschwalls

what i want to do is get 4.5 volts to the fuzz instead of the 9 volts from battery or the adapter......how would i limit the incoming voltage to 4.5 volts ????
i image it would be easy but i am new at this game....

how would i go about doing this.......???

my reason is simple... i heard about one of the guys in the Allman brothers draining his 9 volt batteries down to half life 4.5 volts then running them in his fuzz.... he said it squashed the load or something like that.....

this is a request from a friend of mine....he knows Greg Allman and got the story from him.... Greg lives here and visits the store often.. His cousin is the owner...

thanks
JON

darron

hey. if you want the dying battery effect, i can think of a couple of ways to do it.

if you want the exact (very close) 4.5 volts, then make a voltage divider out of two resistors. get two resistors of about 100k, connect in series:

(+) positive > 100k resisor > 100k resistor > (-) negative

then, the voltage that you will get in the middle of the two resistors will be half of the supply voltage, about 4.5 volts. so tap off between the two resistors which are sitting between positive and negative and you will get the 4.5 volts.

another way to get the dying battery effect with a bit more control would be to use a potentiometer in series with the power supply. at one end you will have zero resistance and the full 9-ish volts, at the other end the resistance will increase and the voltage will proportionately lower.

i just checked google for a diagram, this came up first :D
http://www.beavisaudio.com/Projects/DBS/
Blood, Sweat & Flux. Pedals made with lasers and real wires!

theblueark

You could use a voltage divider, 2 resistors of the same size in series from 9V to ground. The voltage from in between them would be 4.5V.