Powersoak / Attenuator, bad for your amp?

Started by finkfloyd, February 10, 2008, 05:50:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

finkfloyd

Could someone please explain how these work and are they bad for your amp? I just want to be able to crank the amp to get natural distortion on the clean channel at lower volume. Im a bedroom player and this amp is very loud, infact i dont usually go past 9 o clock on the clean volume!!

Im guessing after looking at the Marshall powerbrake these use very large resistors, and get hot, they also seem to be very expensive.

I basically posted this in a pretty dead forum elsewhere:

QuoteI bought the new Soundcity 50 Watt Head and use it with a Hiwatt 4x12, it is a seriously loud amp, and uses 4x 12AX7's and 2 6L6GC's. I use this at home and I darent turn up the volume! You could easily get arrested with this thing and go deaf. I find it is very punchy, in a way if you play then strike a little harder you can feel the power! I'm no expert on amps, but it has a great clean channel, but the overdrive channel can be very nasty I find, and sounds almost like a fuzzface maxxed out. More interestingly you can roll down the volume on your guitar, and it will clean up consideringly well, just like a fuzzface, after playing with it for a month, I have grown to like it, but the distortion is pretty nasty you have to be carefull with it.

For example the song Echoes by Pink Floyd, when I play the solo I have the overdrive at 2:30 and the overdrive level at or however loud you want to play! and I can then play the chords fairly clean and then when the solo kicks in I can turn up the volume to get the nasty full on distortion.