Built tonepad Phase 90 and...it distorts.

Started by sircletus, March 07, 2008, 04:07:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sircletus

Hello, all.  I'm relatively new to the wild world of modulation effects, and I thought I'd start out by building a Phase 90 using the tonepad schematic.  Upon completion, I've noticed a nasty distortion when I pick hard ('93 strat with lace sensors).  I did a little test and first disconnected the wet signal from the output and found that the clean signal is not distorting, so it's not the input stage clipping.  Only the wet signal is distorting.  To further test things out, I rebuilt the entire circuit on my powered proto board and it's still distorting.  So there's something about the circuit itself that's causing distortion, as opposed to my screwing up the build.  Any idea how to eliminate this problem?

Thanks all,
SirC

mdh

Could you tell us which JFETs you used, whether you matched them, and what the gate voltage is on one of the JFETs (they're connected, so they should all be the same)?

aab0mb

A lot of people have encountered this problem w/ the P90.  Do a search here in the forum and in Google and you'll more that likely find what you want to know. 

Start here:
http://www.erikhansen.net/?page_id=31

The link is NOT talking about the tonepad version but it'll help.

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

Jam,
A

guitarman89

I've built it some weeks ago and i noticed that it distorts a very very bit or however crank up the dry signal which is so filtered (i've mod it with depth mod, 1 M pot instead of the 1 M resistor after zener diode and i use tl082)...
But it sounds great! It is one of my preferred stompbox!!  :icon_evil:P90 Rulezzzzzzzzzz :icon_evil:

I was thinking.... you can try to change the ICs with others! Try and listen...It can be a good solution! :)
built: MXR Dist+,dod250-280,dr boogey,IC buffers,cmos drive,multiface,20W SS pwr amps,phase90,tubescreamer,rat,amzMB,wuly mammoth,dod280,zombie chorus