Transformer saturation idea

Started by raulgrell, March 10, 2008, 02:40:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

raulgrell

A recent discussion on this forum has shed light on the fact that transformers saturate more with low frequency signals than with high frequency signals. In another unrelated discussion, someone mentioned that a way to make the transformer saturate sooner is to let some DC into it.

What if a signal were to be split, one of the halves passed through a frequency to voltage converter such that a higher frequency signal would add more DC to the transformer. If indeed the saturation of the output transformer makes a strong, pleasing effect on the sound, then this "system" would help achieve a balanced saturation throughout the frequency range. Unfortunately I'm not experienced enough to produce this system... Someone here might!

While transformer have (in my opinion) a pleasing effect on the sound, I am not sure (judging by what people have told me) if it is caused by its saturation. This would be an interesting way to prove/disprove it.

What do you think?

frank

Quote from: Mark Hammer on March 06, 2008, 12:21:39 PM
Me, I'm still waiting for folks to start dickering around with small output transformers in those circuits.  I think the results might be interesting and a step up from what is already a great start.

Quote from: DougH on March 06, 2008, 02:55:39 PM
As far as output transformers and etc go, I don't know. I'm not holding my breath that emulating (or using an xformer in a 9v circuit) is going to make much of a dramatic difference if at all. One thing I do know is it is much easier just to build a tube amp than it is to attempt to accurately emulate it in SS, esp at 9v.
I will say that the ROG approach works well and sounds good on its own merit. And a lot of what a lot of people consider "tubey" comes down to EQ.

Quote from: DougH on March 08, 2008, 10:52:02 AM