How To add an LED

Started by DanAngus, April 27, 2008, 12:38:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DanAngus

Hey Guys

Im new to this stuff and i just want to know how to add an LED to your pedal!

Thanks

~Dan

superfish

look in the DIY FAQ. shows how to wire an LED with true bypass.

Mick Bailey

I use the mark 1 Millennium Bypass in every build nowadays. It means you get true bypass with a standard DPDT switch and an LED. No problems at all and can be built on a piece of 4X4 hole Vero and shrink-wrapped. I make a few in advance.

Further details here;
http://www.geofex.com/article_folders/millenium/millen.htm

demonstar

Like Mick, I quite like the millenium bypass when I add an LED however you could use a 3PDT instead. You would use the third pair of poles to switch an LED and current limiting resistor in series connected between V+ and GND on and off. It's really late here so thats a poor explanation and quick but if you look at the offboard wiring schemes at tonepad you'll understand. Everything you need should be there.

Any questions ask?
"If A is success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut"  Words of Albert Einstein

Radamus

DO you need to have the switch at the beginning and at the end of the effect? Couldn't one at the beginning or one at the end do the same thing? (I'm aware this is an uninformed question). Does the signal get polluted or split under these conditions? Any way I can save some money on switches, I'd like to know.

Is the point of Millennium Bypass that it puts an LED in the way of current but not the signal? That way it will light up and not need the third set of pins?

demonstar

Hey Radamus I think this may help you...

Go to geo and search... 'The Ins and Outs of Effect Bypassing'

"http://www.geofex.com/"
"If A is success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut"  Words of Albert Einstein

rikkards