so I built this from the Fetzer ... opinions plz ?

Started by Derringer, April 28, 2008, 08:38:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Derringer

Hi, I'm pretty new to this and I've recently become fascinated by the Fetzer idea and started experimenting.
This is the first time I have tried to just make something up that hasn't been entirely scripted.
It's breadboarded and I dig how it sounds through my P1-Ex.

I'd just like to know form those of you with more experience if you see any places that I did something obviously strange or if you see spots that you might improve on.

The only thing more that I'd like to get out of it is more grind and less fizz when I turn up the gain. But otherwise, with the controls tweaked right, and a P-90 equipped axe, I'm digging it.

Opinions please.

Thanks.

noob-builder Bill

petemoore

Take a look at amp sims and notice many similarities and differences.
  Less fizz could be a two pole LP filter at the end [see Supreaux, ROG] or maybe a pot and cap to ground for variable treble shunt.
  More grind, inclined to suggest a third stage, two Jfets work good as shown [you can try reducing the source resistor, three of course still uses the first to boost mostly, but then the two after that would see enough signal to distort more heavily.
  Hybrid stuff is cool.
  With successive gain stages multiplying [within their ability @9v] the amplitude of everything [maybe having troulbes with certain frequencies more than others], some frequency taming may be needed, treble can easily start becoming harsh, bass can become loose and 'overburdensome'.
  Some simple [cap to ground] LP filtering 'in the middle of the circuit.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

frankclarke

Looks good. Higer gain/transconductance JFETs would might be good if you are using wimpy JFETs. J201's are gainy. A SHO-style MOSFET stage in front of (or replacing) Q1 would give you more gain too.

Derringer