PEAVEY Bass preamp Distortion(Fuzz) Section - Help extracting e making a pedal

Started by nego_veio, May 05, 2008, 07:33:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nego_veio

Hi,
This is my first contribution to the forum.
I Have the schematics of a Peavey f 800 b bass preamp that have a one-knob-distortion in it. I know this amp for a long time, its "distortion" have a full and rich bass response and a beautiful and extreme fuzz in it. I searched for this schematics for a long time, now i found it and i want to extract the fuzz section off it, eliminating the rest of the components to make this simple and powerfull bass distortion, like in the preamp.
I have plenty experience in making pedals, i have made from overdrives to phase shifters, so making the pedal would not be a problem.
But i have some difficulty in extracting the distortion secton from the preamp schematics, i'm not good at that and i don't have that experience. And i'm here asking for some help.
In case someone is interested, i'm here sharing the schematics with you.
Please, i would aprecciate this help so much.
Thank you.
PS: Sorry about my bad english, it's not my native language.

Boogdish

I'm still pretty new at this stuff, but I would try to get it inbetween the pair of .01 coupling caps separating the section from the input and from the first EQ section:

This is not taking into account power supply, since the schem you posted was 24v.

nego_veio

what about the power supply?
what i would have to change to use a 9v power supply?

Mick Bailey

superferrite

I am going to be of no help, but I encourage you to proceed!  My friend has of of these Seventies Peaveys and they have a really nice distortion for bass--one that NEEDS to be put in a stompbox.
Psychedelic Garage Metal

dxm1

How about this for a start?

If you have the power amp schematic, see what voltage mystery point 'P' connects to.

nelson