Using 3PDT Switches Instead of DPDT

Started by fogwolf, June 04, 2008, 09:51:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

fogwolf

Hi,

I am a complete beginner working on my first project, an A/B/Y box:

http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_amp_aby.pdf

The problem is that this project calls for and shows you how to wire 2 DPDT bypass switches but I supidly purchased 2 3PDT bypass switches instead. I'm assuming I could still use these but am not sure how to wire them, since the spec shows DPDTs - would I just lay the 3PDT switches out in the same orientation as the DPDTs in the wiring diagram and ignore the middle column of 3 connectors on my switches?

Thanks!

dschwartz

yes, you can do that..

also, you can use the middle switch to activate a led.
----------------------------------------------------------
Tubes are overrated!!

http://www.simplifieramp.com

Mark Hammer

The switches come with sets of 3 contacts, either two such sets in the case of DPDT, or three sets in the case of 3PDT.  The "P" stands for "pole", and the first character tells you how many.  So, 4PDT means four sets of three contacts.  If it were DPST (S for "single") there would be two sets of 2 contacts.

Were there are huge gulf in price between the different switch configurations, then paying attention to how many contacts they have might be worth doing, but in the present climate there is so little difference in price between 9-lug, 6-lug, 3-lug, 4-lug switches, that it is simply more convenient to have a bunch of 3PDTs on hand and only use the lugs you need.  A 3PDT can serve as a SPST if you want, or a DPST, or an SPDT, or whatever.  As long as there are enough lugs to do the needed task, you're fine.