News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Tube Phaser

Started by frequencycentral, July 19, 2008, 07:07:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frequencycentral

Anyone care to suggest resistor and capacitor values for this?

I found it here: http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=32911.0
http://www.frequencycentral.co.uk/

Questo è il fiore del partigiano morto per la libertà!

asfastasdark

Tube phaser! Awesome! This is gonna be my next build  ;D! But yeah, I'm not that experienced that I can just get resistor/cap values... someone figure them out please!  :P

Well, I guess R3 is some input resistor... I don't know.

mac

I recently experimented with fets for a phaser. I guess that fets could easily be replaced in my design with low voltage tubes since tubes and fets share almost the same topology. I do not know what tubes can add to the sound, but worth the try.

mac
mac@mac-pc:~$ sudo apt-get install ECC83 EL84

The Tone God

I have played tube based phasers both low and high voltage and quite frankly they are nothing I would write home about. The low voltage versions add nothing special and take more power for the filaments which is just wasteful. The high voltage ones do not really bring that classic thought of "warmth" to the phase sound.

Overall if you are expecting something extra to come out by using tube don't have your hopes up but if you want people to oh and ah then knock yourself out.

Andrew

mac

I guess that is because tubes are used as signal splitters, working at unity gain, so no mojo adds to the sound.
The deepness, warmth, etc, is more likely to be a consequence of design than tubes or transistors.

mac

frank_p

What I guess is that tubes have "their own behaviour" but transfered.
If you can do it with low voltage components: all right !
But: can you tell what tubes will bring you ( I did not say nothing; and I have a friend who is on that "thung"),
However, if you're not experienced, how can you tell...