first project! need a little help finishing it up

Started by lerxst88, August 06, 2008, 06:10:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lerxst88

alright so i just finished my first PC board for a clyde mccoy wah. here is the schematic i was working from

http://fuzzcentral.ssguitar.com/mccoy/mccoylayout.gif

and here is my finished pcb:

solder side

i bought these jacks at radio shack which i hope will work

and this is the shell im putting it in. its an early 90s dunlop gcb-95. the pot and wiring harness is all still intact

so how can i hook up the pot, switch, the input and output? thanks for all your patience and advice. im a real noob at this!

liddokun

That schematic is for true bypass, while the switch is a spdt switch. You either have to buy a 3pdt or 2pdt switch to get it to work without tonesucking, or add an input buffer to the circuit. 
To those about to rock, we salute you.

John Lyons

To put it another way.
When you use a switch like the one that's in that wah shell you usually use a buffer so the signal from the input is not degraded by going from the input of the wah circuit and to the output in bypass. Usually this makes the bypassed signal sound muddy and lifeless.
Beg, borrow or steal a DPDT footswitch so that when you are in bypass the input directly connects to the output.

Go to GGG (general Guitar gadgets) linked above and download a wah wiring diagram.
This will show you how to wire the pot and footswitch as well as input and output.

By the way, the board you used is called "perf board" not PCB. PCB (Printed circuit board) has copper traces connecting the parts of the circuit.
If you need a DPDT switch I can sell you one, I have a few extra.

John

Basic Audio Pedals
www.basicaudio.net/

liddokun

Yes, John put it way better than I did. Sorry for being so unclear about it. Thanks for being really clear, John.

lerxst88