Boss CH1 Super Chorus, Vibrato mod? Is there one?

Started by aarondavis, August 13, 2008, 10:31:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aarondavis

Guy's, I have a Boss CH1 I'd like to add a switch for vibrato only mode.  Does anyone know how to do this. 

Forgive me, I'm not a DIY expert so be kind... :icon_biggrin:

Please post pics, suggestions, warnings et al.  Thanks

chassit

http://www.erikhansen.net/?page_id=27

I just got a CH-1 yesterday that I was considering putting these mods into.

Mark Hammer

Keep in mind that about 97% of commercial chorus pedals do their "bypassing" by simply using a single FET to cancel the delay signal, leaving only the clean unaltered signal.  Vibrato, on the other hand, is produced by cancelling the clean signal and leaving only the delayed signal.  What this means is that if you install a toggle to lift/cancel the dry sigal in order to produce vibrato, when you step on the pedal to completely bypass the effect, you won't have ANY signal unless you also flip the toggle to restore the clean.  :icon_eek: This may not be what you're looking for.

It IS possible to have an automatic flip-over, using an extra FET and a few additional parts, but the level of knowledge required to do that sort of a mod is a little more extensive than what is required to simply find a particular resistor, unsolder one end, and run a pair of wires from there to a toggle.  Not impossible, mind you, but if you are asking how to do a basic vibrato mod here, that would suggest that you're on Chapter 2.  Doing a vibrato flip-over, using FET switching, is more like Chapter 4 or 5.

So, if you can bear to have the pedal be NOT gig-ready, then by all means go ahead, and use it in the best of health.  If you need it to go from vibrato to bypass for gigging purposes, you may want to reconsider for the moment.

aarondavis

Thanks Mark for the quality info.  You're exactly right, I'm still reading Chapter 2.... :icon_biggrin: