|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 22, 2014, 01:37:54 PM
964352 Posts in 103010 Topics by 32613 Members
Latest Member: ydswd2003
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  Projects  |  Beginner Project  |  Beginner Project Voltages 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Beginner Project Voltages  (Read 13368 times)
aron
Administrator

Aron Nelson

Beginner Project Voltages
« on: December 07, 2009, 02:14:45 PM »

Thanks to Mike Parker (GibsonGM)

« Last Edit: December 09, 2009, 04:28:37 PM by aron » Logged
micwatson

Re: Beginner Project Voltages
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2010, 10:41:31 AM »

hey aaron!

first of all, thanks for everything! this is really great!

i am new to electronics. how do i measure the voltages above? black end of the multimeter to ground, red end to the according solder point?

thanks a lot!

-michael
Fortunado

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 04:57:14 PM »

Voltage is a property of two points and thus can only be measured across two points. Depending on which component or where you want to measure the voltage, you will have to place the two ends of the multimeter accordingly. The red probe is the positive probe and so will be connected to the "source" of current and the black probe is the negative so it'll be connected to wherever the current flows to. Atleast, this is what I've surmised from various readings and knowledge of physics. I'm a novice myself, so I'm not sure if this helps, but good luck!
phector2004

Phil T.

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2010, 08:21:28 PM »

black one to ground (if you've boxed this, an easy way to do it is to just stick the probe into a jack, assuming you've done the wiring right  icon_biggrin )

red one touches the lead you wanna test