"Red Star Drive"

Started by frequencycentral, October 08, 2008, 03:12:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frequencycentral

"Red Star Drive"

This is so simple stupid I can't believe I didn't try it sooner. Last week I breadboarded a few different fuzzes and drives using some newly acquired Ge trannies and Ge diodes. One of the circuits I did was the Trotsky Drive, I used one SFT353 and two 1n67a – I was amazed at the great sounds coming from such a simple circuit.

It got me thinking how it would sound if I replaced the transistor with a 5672 submini pentode. So I breadboarded it – sounded good, but could be better.

Over the last few days I've played about with the 5672 biasing in an attempt to get more gain from what is essentially a PentaBoost with clipping diodes. I came to the conclusion that it won't deliver any more gain at low voltage. So I started playing about with different combinations of clipping diodes until I stumbled across the perfect pair – a back to back 1n4148 (Si) and 1n67a (Ge).

The result is good IMHO – nice clipping, a good amount of gain, and excellent boost too. This is not a massively saturated gain pedal by any means. I find it nicely gritty and fattening, while preserving the character of the original signal. More bluesy than metal – but sometimes oatcakes go down better than brownies right?

Turn the 'Clip' to minimum and you effectively have a clean boost pedal, turning it up increases the clipping.

I think it should work equally well at 9 volts or 12 volts. I'm a 12 volt guy myself.

So:

Red - influenced by the Trotsky Drive.....
Star - uses a pentode.....
Drive - it's an overdrive.....

Cool name huh?

Soundclip #1 (dry): http://www.aronnelson.com/DIYFiles/up/Red_Star_Drive_Dry.mp3

Soundclip #2 (cab sim): http://www.aronnelson.com/DIYFiles/up/Red_Star_Drive_+_Cab_Sim.mp3

http://www.frequencycentral.co.uk/

Questo è il fiore del partigiano morto per la libertà!

ConanB