first project that might make it to a box when to stop?

Started by sickbend, November 18, 2008, 03:34:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sickbend

This is my first build that might make it to a box I finally got things sorted out and I'm learning a ton along the way very fun stuff. but when do you go ok enough is enough lets box this up already? this started as a simple dod 250 clone and I think I'm wanting to go way overboard on it I've seen way overboard pedals before and I'm a huge control freak. being a studio guy im supprised I havent tried to make this a rack mount device, but here it goes this dod 250 /mxr distortion plus thing has a lot of options

what I've done is put the germanium diodes d1 and d2 on a switch lifting ground so I guess it can be a clean boost or a distortion but I've also added a zenier in the feedback loop when I disengage the hard clipping diodes there is a huge volume jump so I'm debating putting a trim pot that comes on only when the diodes are taken out of the circuit so the levels are similar kind of like a ts - 9 hot switch in reverse. then I thought I should make it a pot and put a second stomp switch so that you can have cleaner tube distortion or a hot lead with a small sacrfifice on total volume so all and all I could see this getting massive when do you say enough is enough?

my final version in my head is 3 stomp switches one for overdrive one for distortion and one for clean boost which requires a second volume pot 2 tone controls I'm thinking big muff style and two more switches one for the hot distortion one for the overdrive/clean boost all on 1 pedal thats what 5 knobs 3 stomp switches and 2 toggle switches to much?

that should allow a single pedal to be used as a clean boost a clean trebel boost a tube like distortion with or without tone control or a heavier overdrive with or without tone control any thoughts?