Thrown for a "loop"...

Started by lotsolowend, November 23, 2008, 11:28:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lotsolowend

i couldn't resist the cheesy joke... down to business!

I'm building a custom looper pedal for a keyboard player friend of mine and I have one problem that I can't think of a way to overcome : /

Here is a quick sketch of what I've done so far:

The idea of this pedal is to have 2 keyboards running (respectively) to 2 DI boxes and these send/return to one pedalboard.  Stomping switch 1 should send in1 -> send -> return -> out1 and deactivating it should just be TB in1 -> out1.  The problem is coming from having 1 send/return and soldering both switches to it.  I'm new to this so I thought diodes could just work like a one way street but someone with a little more intelligence than I said that would cause tone loss because of too much resistance if it even worked (keyboards output tons more voltage than guitars he claims?).  Any ideas? I have an idea of how I could do it with 1-2 more toggle switches but I'd like to keep it simple.  It's okay if the keyboards cannot go to the send/return simultaneously. 1 on the other off, or both off, is enough.

Good luck!
-Jonathan

petemoore

I can suggest a different approach because I can't quite follow the flow, reading other looper pedal schematics, understanding how to recognize the various 'flow patterns' of the signal, this may make it easier to discuss, choose, inquire, and write about the switching circuits, because they are cleanly drawn and the components are labeled.

Convention creates following, following creates convention.

lotsolowend

Hah, understandable.

I drew that at work and the best i could think to do was color code it.
Blue - Input
Brown - Ground
Black - Send
Red - Return
Orange - 9v+
Purple - Output

I'll try to get a better drawing.  I could take a picture of the assembled pedal also if you'd like

lotsolowend