rotary switch wiring in small clone

Started by spenwah, December 04, 2008, 10:21:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spenwah

So, I'm building the Small Clone from TonePad. This is my third pedal build, and I still hardly know what I'm doing, just following the schematic. I want to implement the mod (included on TonePad's schematic) to use a rotary switch to vary the capacitance going into the CD4007. I have a sp12t, but I'm pretty clueless as to how to wire it up. If anybody could sketch me a rough diagram I'd be very grateful. Here's a picture of the insides of the finished product, but I still can't make out what's going on.

Thanks.

grathan

I am new at this too, but I will try to help.

You have a sp12t switch but the tonepad schematic says use a sp4t switch? so your just looking to substitute the 12 for the 4? Or am I looking at the wrong schematic?

spenwah

Yes, I'm pretty sure the sp12t switch should work... but it will have 8 settings that are all the same. I think it's a sp12t in moosapotamus's build that I linked to.
Thanks

WLTerry

Take a look in the math section of the cap switch mod, caps in series are:

Cresult = 1 / [ (1/C1) + (1/C2) + (1/C3) + (1/C4) + ...]

So, with the switching mod with those cap values, the whole resulting capacitance is indicated with every position. The trick is when you change positions, you are short-breaking capacitors. I made a quick drawing of this, the wires and caps on grey in the scheme means those are short-breaked, followed by a view of the rotary switch and the proper wiring for this case.

Hope it helps.
Will

frank_p

The grey lines are what are bypassed.

But you have to include the 3rd and 4rth wires (not indicated or underneath).
In other words : the common or/and the ground.

In a two leads in, two leads out fashion, you still have to wire a common contact.

Plus, the grey lines must not only be "grey ghosts", they must be inexistant.